• Home
  • news
  • MEDIA ADVISORY: Brighter Futures Awards (3/18)

MEDIA ADVISORY: Brighter Futures Awards (3/18)

My City, My Place Brighter Futures 2016: Inventive Paths to Brighter Futures

8:00 a.m. – 9:00 a.m., Breakfast and Registration (Freedom Ballroom, Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel)

9:15  a.m., Brighter Futures Award presented by Larry Pace, Director of Operations at Intellectual disAbility Services, to Dean Daniel Schidlow, M.D., of Drexel University School of Medicine

9:30-10:30 a.m., Plenary Session
Academy of Adult Learning, Temple Institute on Disabilities
Kathleen Miller, Director of Community Services
Institute on Disabilities

Unified Sports, Athlete Leadership Program, Young Athletes Program
Special Olympics Pennsylvania
Britt Kline, Philadelphia Program Director
Raymond Anderson, Global Messenger, Athlete Representative, Special Olympics

A Partnership for Innovation
UCP and Springside Chestnut Hill Academy
Lylian Melendez, CTRS, Director of WE at UCP and Therapeutic Activities
Scott Stein, Chair, Science Department, Springside Chestnut Hill Academy
Beth Loving, Alissa Sperling, UCP

Moderator: Terri Matthews, Mom, CEO & Founder, Jaden’s Voice

10:30 a.m. – 12 p.m.

Innovation Station (resource room)–Independence Ballroom- Mezzanine

Relaxation Room-Wholistic Practices–/Franklin Room

12 p.m.,  Luncheon Awards Program (500 people expected)
Welcome Loraine Ballard Morrill, Mistress of Ceremonies, iHeartMedia Philadelphia
Denise Taylor Patterson, Director, Intellectual disAbility Services
Sheila Hess, City Representative, Welcome from Mayor James Kenney
The Honorable Derek Green, Philadelphia City Councilman-at-Large, Citation
Commissioner Arthur C. Evan, Jr., Ph.D.,  Philadelphia Department of Behavioral Health and Intellectua disAbility Services
Keynote Address: Secretary Ted Dallas, Pennsylvania Department of Human Services

24th Annual Brighter Futures Award Winners:
Peg Botto and Adam Howell,
Financial Wellness Award
Nominated by Andrea Consigny, SPIN

Patrick Christmas, Social Wellness Award
Nominated by Bernice McHale, SPIN

Victor Croes and the Mangano Family
Emotional Wellness Award
Nominated by Magdaline Biawogei, Quality Progressions

Ellen Goldberg, Barbara Levy, Kathryn Norris, Dorothy Spence, Debbie Herring, Einstein Hospital
Team Occupational Wellness Award
Nominated by Christie Maher, PATH

Rachel Henry and Jameel Rush, Greater Exodus Baptist Church,
Spiritual Wellness Award
Nominated by David Ambrister, Speaking for Ourselves

Susan Leopold,
Individual Occupational Wellness Award
Nominated by Chelsea Lutts, SPIN

Mike O’Brien,
Environmental Wellness Award
Nominated by Monique Thomas, KenCrest

Marianne Roche,
Pioneer Award
Nominated by Jennifer Williams, SPIN

Dean Daniel Schidlow, M.D.,
Physical Wellness Award
Drexel University School of Medicine
Nominated by Tanya Regli, The Arc of Philadelphia

Scott Stein,
Intellectual Wellness Award
Springside Chestnut Hill Academy
Nominated by Lylian Melendez, UCP of Philadelphia

Stanley Wilson, Lynne Jamison, Glenda Cooke,
Team Physical Wellness Award
Nominated by Monique Thomas, KenCrest